Is It a Lifestyle or Just Something You Do?


I like to bike. No, I love biking. I’m getting ready to move to a new city. When my wife and I were house/apartment hunting we chose a place had bikeable areas nearby over places that were both bigger and cheaper.

Where I live right now I bike to work almost every day. I bike to the nearby stores. I bike to my parent’s house. I even bought a child trailer so I could throw my briefcase and other work stuff into the back. I know from experience that I can haul 4 long comic book boxes (almost a 1000 comics) in that trailer. That’s nigh 200 pounds.

Lake Moultrie trail

The thing is, I don’t rack up a lot of miles although I bike so much. I probably won’t in my new place either. I have friends who regularly go out and bike 15, 30, or even 50 miles a day on multi-thousand dollar bikes while wearing spandex unis with pockets on the back. Then they don’t touch their bike again until it’s time for their next bike workout.

That’s the big difference between us. I bike because I love it. It’s part of my lifestyle. I pride myself on biking more than driving. For many of my friends it’s just a workout. Their bikes are nothing more than pretty kettlebells.

If you have something you enjoy, consider making that transition from plain old thing to a lifestyle. It might make a huge difference for you.

If you need more of a reason to move further into the biking lifestyle, check out this article on how biking to work will make you happier and healthier.

This message was written by a team of geeks, nerds, gamers, and Dr. David Powers. You can always find us at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

