Avoiding the Hell that is Back to School Shopping


I just made the mistake of venturing into Wal Mart during back to school shopping time on a tax free weekend. Ouch! If you’ve ever done this on purpose or by accident, you know what I’m talking about. I feel bad for my friends that work retail at times like this (unless, of course, you work on commission).

school_supply_sales

I’m glad that I don’t have to do the back to school shopping thing anymore. As a kid I enjoyed it because it was the time to try and find the coolest Trapper Keeper or folders. I’m sure my parents hated it, and not just because of the lines. We didn’t have a lot of money back in those days either. My parents were pretty awesome and, as a kid, I never really knew this. So, every August we would do the same old zombie shuffle into the store with a list of stuff me and my sister needed for school.

Let me see if I can break it down…

  • Your taxes pay for school.
  • You pay extra fees for anything special your kids do.
  • The teachers give you a very specific list of crap you need to buy.
  • A lot of schools also mandate that you buy extra stuff that goes into a bin for the kids who can’t afford all the crap the schools said they needed.
  • You stand in line at the store for the joy of purchasing all of this stuff.
  • You wonder if it’s all worth it.
  • You wonder why there isn’t a better way to do all this.

There is a better way.

There’s a better way to educate our kids that actually prepares them for adulthood. There’s a better way that doesn’t require a bunch of supplies you don’t need and will rarely use. You know what? Belay that, there’s not just one better way. There are a lot of better ways.

Did you know that you have choices in education other than just shipping your kids off to an overcrowded, dangerous government school? The better ways go by so many names, and each one is so different than the others.

  • Private school
  • Unschool
  • Homeschool
  • School abroad
  • Travel school

As a parent you have choices and you can pick the one that most favors your lifestyle and your child’s personality. Don’t just give in and, for goodness sake, think about your choices before you head out to the store this weekend. It’s not too late to change your child’s future right now…this weekend…today.

I talk about this at length in my book Creating a Functional Education. You can buy it online for your e-reader, and you don’t even have to go to the store.

Don’t waste any more time. Don’t waste any more of your kid’s time. Make a change now.

This message was written by a team of geeks, nerds, gamers, and Dr. David Powers. You can always find us at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

