Cracking Open My First Cairn Box


I love the recent trend in membership subscription boxes. If you’re not familiar with them, basically, you sign up for a subscription for a company of your choice, and they send you a box full of goodies each month. Prices vary, but you get more in value than what the box costs. They’re out there for just about any affinity group you can think of including geeks, gamers, martial artists, sex fetishists, and outdoor aficionados.

For over a year I subscribed to the one from Lootcrate. It was pretty cool and always had lots of neat stuff for geeks and nerds involved in sci-fi, zombies, comics, games, and more. It was a great monetary value as well because I’d keep some, give some to my kids, save some for gifts, and sell some.

I really enjoyed the Lootcrate boxes, but I decided to shift that money over to a box that I thought would actually be more useful. Our family, including 4 kids, are always in the outdoors and we also fancy ourselves to be amateur preppers after living in hurricane prone areas for several decades.

Cairn-box-outdoor

I just signed up for the outdoor recreation box from Cairn and received my first box this week. I’d checked out their previous boxes and it looked pretty cool. My first box did not disappoint either, as I found some items that immediately went into my backpack or my mouth.

Cairn-box

Here’s the rundown on the September box…

  • BlackStrap Daily Tube. It’s a stretchy, breathable, quick-drying fabric tube that works as a scarf, balaclava, and more. I like it because it offers UPF 50+ and will make a great quick head covering for me if I forget my hat.
  • Epiphany Outdoor Gear V3 Pocket Bellows. This is a tiny fire bellows that will be great for helping start that stubborn fire. This is a keeper for my fire starting kit.
  • Skout Organic Black Pepper BBQ Raw Pumpkin Seeds. I already ate these! Nom nom nom…
  • Whiskey Run Butter Stick Lip Balm. With 4 kids we go through lip balm quick in the outdoors, so this will come in handy. Honestly, I think my 3yo is eating the stuff.
  • UST Brands Compass Carabiner. This got clipped onto my Get Home Bag right away. Great for grid down navigation.
  • Mike Putnam Photography Greeting Card. It’s a beautiful pic, and I’m sure one of my good friends will be receiving this in the mail at some point.

Overall, I was very pleased with the box and it was immediately useful.

If you’d like to check them out, you can find Cairn right HERE. If you do sign up, please use me as your referral. When prompted, just enter my name “Dr. David Powers” and e-mail “Docbeaker@aol.com” as the referral person.

This message was written by a team of geeks, nerds, gamers, and Dr. David Powers. You can always find us at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

