Chillin’ at Chef Steps


Let me issue right away by virtue of a disclaimer that I am not a chef. I also very seldom cook, which is why I am so very grateful that my wife and kids cook so well.

A couple of weeks ago we were invited out to Seattle by Chef Steps for an 8 course dinner at their headquarters in recognition of my kids winning the Transformations cooking contest. It was a stupendously awesome time. I ate things that night that I’d never heard of, indulged in a few things I was never willing to try before, and devoured variations of common food items that I’d never thought possible.

I’ll give you a bunch of pics here in just a second, because that will tell you far more than I can relate in words, but, first, let me tell you about the crew at Chef Steps.

We were introduced to Chef Steps through Tim Ferriss. They’re the premiere source of online food education on the globe, and, in my opinion, a way better place to learn how to be awesome in any kitchen, professional or at home, than a typical culinary institute. The staff there are not only knowlegable beyond belief, but so personable you’d think you knew them for years. They make learning cooking both fun and educational. They welcomed us into their cooking lab/headquarters/mad scientist space like we were family.

If you’re not a Chef Steps junkie yet, but cooking is a profession, hobby, or skill you’d like to be better at, be sure to check them out. You can find them right HERE.

Chef Steps doors

Attending a J. Kenji Lopez-Alt book signing event. Man, he was awesome!

J Kenji Lopez Alt

At the table with Tim Ferriss.

Tim Ferriss-Chef Steps

Now, I’ll try going over the dishes. Keep my disclaimer in mind. I’m sure I’ll massacre the names of the dishes. I’m pretty sure you can find recipes and classes for many of these dishes on their website if you’re interested. Believe me, after eating them, I’m saying that you should definitely be interested.

The first course was peas prepared in a centrifuge. It separated the peas into pure pea juice and pea butter.

1st dish-Peas-Centrifuge They not only let the boys watch the prepping while they explained everything, but they even let them help with a few dishes.

The second course was ice cream salad.

Chef Steps-Ice Cream Salad

The third course was raw tuna caught fresh two days earlier with Japanese pears sitting in a bath of some kind of oil. If I heard correctly, the oil is somehow made from distilled camel urine.

3-Tuna

The fourth course was grilled mushrooms and vegetables in a vegetarian demi-glaze.

4-mushrooms

The fifth course was something amazing made from an egg. I don’t even know how to adequately describe this dish. It was my favorite.

5-egg

If you wondered about the drawing on the egg shell, here’s the Egg Bot!

5-egg bot

The sixth course was ice cream and reconstructed carrot cake.

6-Carrot Cake

The seventh course was a cappuccino that the chefs let my boys help make.

7-cappucino

Hanging out with Tim Ferriss.

20150926_203742

Hanging out with the chefs.

20150926_204410

This message was written by a team of geeks, nerds, gamers, and Dr. David Powers. You can always find us at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

Links to other info about this event…

Tim Ferriss’ 4-Hour Chef

Chef Steps

Abishai Powers Contest Entry

J. Kenji Lopez-Alt

On Meeting Tim Ferriss

Other Info about the Contest

Leave a Reply

