Do You Seek a Land of Ease or Adventure?


How do you live your life? Do you seek for things to be easy, repetitive, and routine or do you seek adventure, excitement, wonder, joy, and passion?

For most of you, it’s not really a choice you make on a big scale. Rather, many of you simply choose one or the other in small ways each day by your actions. I spent this morning in the hospital doing pretesting necessary for an upcoming surgery. I could have chosen to sit there quiet and boring and afraid. But no, that’s not me.

I joked with the nurses. I asked them about their day. I laughed when the needle went in for a blood draw instead of screaming in pain like some people do. She and I even joked about how funny it is when big tough guys pass out at needles. On the way out, I stopped at the Starbucks in the hospital lobby and made fun of the barista. He and I have gotten to know each other lately as I visit the hospital so often. Poor guy just can’t grow a decent beard to save his life. The other barista laughed when she asked what name to put down for the order and I said, “Thor”.

Speaking of Thor, here’s a good example of choice…

Thor-12-2013-Iceland-land of ease or adventure

I don’t want you to decide right now on the overarching theme of your life. I just want you to decide what your very next action will be…

Check out The Adventurists and sign up for a crazy trip.

Order a climbing guide and start planning a trip to Africa.

Walk outside and see what the big deal is with that stuff called fresh air.

It’s up to you.

This message was written by a team of geeks, nerds, gamers, and Dr. David Powers. You can always find us at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

