Becoming Mr. Mom


After 11 years of being a fulltime mom and homeschool teacher for our 4 kids, my wife has gone back to work. She now has a fulltime job at Amazon, and I do my best to provide job security for her by constantly ordering books and other stuff.

Because of this change, there has been a lot of transition in my house. It doesn’t mean for any reason that I’ve quit my own business. What it does mean is that I’m becoming more flexible and less apt to waste time. I now run my own speaking, coaching, and writing business where I help people keep the adventure in their lives and also do fulltime homeschool. Like the Michael Keaton of old, I’ve become Mr. Mom.

I don’t want it to just be that though. As a matter of fact, I kind of dislike the Mr. Mom label. It implies that a guy can’t be a fulltime dad without becoming a woman of sorts or taking over feminine duties. In my opinion, clothes, dishes, and meals are unisex duties.

In light of this change I’m organizing a community online and eventually in larger gatherings called Rugged Dad. It’s only in the beginning stages right now, but plan on seeing big things coming in the future. For now, you can get plugged in by liking our Facebook page. There’s also a button on there to sign up for regular updates on events and advice from myself and other active dads.

Print__Rugged_Dad__Logo

My ultimate goal in all of this is to get more dads active. If you work fulltime, that’s fine, but you also need to be active in your kid’s lives. As I became the parent that took the kids to all their events, athletic practices, and playdates I noticed that I seldom saw other dads at any of them. it didn’t matter if it was morning, afternoon, or evening, the dads just weren’t there. I’m sure most of them could use their jobs as an excuse, but I also know that if something important came up that they wanted to do, they’d figure out a way. It’s just that their kids aren’t the priority. Don’t use money as an excuse either. Believe me, your kids would rather have you around than enjoy watching you drive away every morning in a nice car.

Men- Join me as we create something different, as we create a place where men pushing strollers or sitting on the bench at the playground are just as normal as the moms doing the same.

Ladies- Encourage your men to join me. Help them find ways to become more a part of their kid’s lives instead of just casual bystanders.

This message was written by a team of geeks, nerds, gamers, and Dr. David Powers. You can always find us at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

Links-

What do I do for a living?

What’s a Mr. Mom?

What’s a Rugged Dad?

Leave a Reply

