Finished My First Book of the Year


Last year I read 53 books. A few years before I read well over a hundred and set my personal record. But the downside to reading so many books was that I didn’t retain as much. I’m trying to cultivate a love of reading in my kids, and I’d love to tell you about what I’m reading so that I can interest you too in diving into a book.

Yesterday I finished my first book of this year. I wouldn’t even call it a reading so much as a research project, as I working through this book for a lecture I’m giving on the subject. The downside is that it took forever to read the book. The upside is that I gained a better understanding by doing so.

The book is How to Be a Mentalist by Simon Winthrop. I was a huge fan of The Mentalist television show and the interesting and quirky skills he used on it. If you’re a fan of the subject, I’d consider this book a great intro to the topic, but you’ll need to study a lot more to really learn it, or, as the book states multiple times, jump into hands-on practice.

In a couple of weeks I’ll be delivering a lecture to a medical conference on how physicians and medics can use these skills to improve patient care.

How-to-be-a-MENTALIST-by-LAS-VEGAS-Magician-Simon-Winthrop-682x1024

This message was written by a team of geeks, nerds, gamers, and Dr. David Powers. You can always find us at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

Links-

How to Be a Mentalist

Leave a Reply

