The Adventure of Teaching Little Ones to Read


I’d like to talk about an aspect of adventure that many of you might not have thought about…teaching kids to read. If you’ve ever done it as a teacher or parent, you know exactly what I’m talking about. If you haven’t, I’m hoping this will inspire you.

As to the adventure aspect, learning to read opens you up to innumerable adventures, From real to imagined, from actual to speculative. I’ve been on a journey with Gandalf over a ring. I’ve been to Hogwarts with Harry. I’ve climbed Everest with Hillary. I’ve crossed the Atlantic with Heyerdahl. All through reading.

I’ve also experienced the adventure of opening up those worlds for others as a teacher. As many of you know, my wife and I homeschool our kids. Two are old enough to read, and the third one is just now learning. In regard to that, I have to say that one of the biggest joys thus far in life that ranks right up there with mountain summits and marathon completions is hearing my 4yo son scream out, “I just read a whole sentence.”

If you have young ones or have the opportunity to be a blessing to other young ones, I urge you to try it out. Aside from the joy of it, teaching little ones to read also helps you personally cultivate the virtues of patience, longsuffering, and courage. That’s my way of saying it’s not always easy, but it is always worth it.

Aside from an attempt at inspiration, I’d love to offer you some concrete advice and mention a resource that we use. After trying out several programs we were so happy to try out a recommendation someone made to us. Two kids now have exclusively used Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons by Siegfried Engelmann to learn how to read. From there we simply moved on to reading books and learning grammar.

51meUDdquRL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

This message was written by a team of geeks, nerds, gamers, and Dr. David Powers. You can always find us at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

Links-

Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons by Siegfried Engelmann

Creating a Functional Education

Teaching in the Weird

 

 

Leave a Reply

