Sky Birds Dare! By L. Ron Hubbard (Book Review)


I just finished reading Sky Birds Dare!, another volume from the Galaxy Press editions of L. Ron Hubbard’s short fiction. This one falls into the air adventures category, as opposed to westerns, mysteries, and sci-fi, which he’s also written prolifically. I’ve really enjoyed his air adventures for their action and authenticity. You can tell Hubbard knows what he’s talking about. As a former pioneer pilot, he ought to. His tales involving the early days of flight take me back to a time in my childhood when I reveled in the stories on the Disney Talespin cartoon and the opening sequences of Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom.

This story is no different, except for one thing. It focuses on a completely different area of flight, that of gliders instead of airplanes. I’ve always been interested in gliders for several reasons. Number one, one of my first flight experiences was in a glider that a friend took me up in. Number two, my wife’s grandfather was a glider crewman in World War II. He was one of the few men that survived the glider landings at Normandy on D-Day.

This story focuses on the hurdles that gliders had to surpass to gain their place in the military aviation arena. As you know, they eventually earned it, but, as the story unfolds, you’ll see it was not an easy road.

sky birds dare

I’m a huge fan of L. Ron Hubbard’s fiction works, so I was very pleased when Galaxy Press re-released a huge catalog of his early short stories and novellas. I’ve been reading or listening to them for years and just got in a whole new box of the audiobooks.

Although they’re available in both print and audio form, I usually opt for the audio versions. When I’m travelling to my next conference event where I’m speaking on zombies or mountain climbing or putting miles on the road on the way to my next climbing adventure I love to pass the time with a good book. Sometimes non-fiction audio puts me to sleep, but a good fiction book is an enjoyable way to pass the time.

One thing I love about the Galaxy Press editions of Hubbard’s books is that they’re well done. You know how most audio versions of fiction books only feature one voice actor and no sound effects. That always bugs me a bit, especially when the person doing the voice is not the same gender as the character in the book. Well, these are just the opposite. Various actors do the voices. There’s also sound effects and background music. They make you feel like you’re sitting by a campfire listening to an old radio theatre broadcast.

The stories also focus on adventure, romance, and suspense. Check out the catalog for yourself to see what you like best. I like the variety personally and will go from an adventure story to a detective tale or something else. I like the style of writing also. I was raised as a wee lad on books by Robert E. Howard and Edgar Rice Burroughs and the Indiana Jones movies. If you like any of those, you’ll surely enjoy these as well. Books like this stoke my own desire for adventure and excitement in life

I would highly recommend the book as a great listen. If you have kids riding with you in the car, I would rate this one as okay for them as well.

As an aside, I know that when some of you see L. Ron Hubbard’s name, all you can think of is his religious influences. If that’s a worry for you, rest assured that that is not an issue in these books. Hubbard was quite an adventurer throughout his life and these books were written well before that phase. Because of his adventurous lifestyle, you can feel a sense of authenticity in the stories that you don’t get from a lot of writers.

This message was written by a team of geeks, nerds, gamers, and Dr. David Powers. You can always find us at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

Links-

Purchase this book on Amazon

Galaxy Press

What in the world is Talespin?

 

 

Leave a Reply

