What can a Little Girl and a Rhodesian Ridgeback Dog Teach You about Creativity?


I attended a Coaching with Excellence event last week at Dan Miller’s Sanctuary. I’ve been to multiple events there, and they just keep getting better and better. As a matter of fact, Dan and his team are moving so fast and furious that you could attend the same event two years in a row, and it will have already improved with new material.

20160513_221915

I’ve known Dan for so long that this old photo was taken in what I like to call the ‘David Pre-Beard Era’.

DWP and Dan Miller

While I was there, Dan spoke about a new book his wife and granddaughter wrote together called What If It Were Possible? Dan related how the idea of the book came about as his wife Joanne challenged their granddaughter by asking, “What if it were possible for a dog to chase a squirrel up a tree?”

I had the opportunity to meet Joanne’s co-author on this book at the conference. Clara Isabel Logsdon is a remarkable young lady and sure to be a powerhouse of creativity to match her grandpa someday. During the entire conference she roamed the grounds at the Sanctuary snapping photos, playing on a zipline, taking notes during classes, and roaming around everywhere barefoot. I think she has Tarzan feet!

61EbgJt6mBL._SY498_BO1,204,203,200_

As Dan says, problems are just opportunities, and it’s true. Guess what? Some dogs can run up trees and chase squirrels. My dream dog can do this. By dream dog, I mean to say the dog I hope to find once I have some land for him to roam on. My dream dog is a Rhodesian Ridgeback, and they’re known to climb trees and love sitting up off the ground. Oftentimes they’ll sleep on top of their doghouses instead of in them.

Rhodesian Ridgebacks were bred to live and hunt in Africa and, because of this, developed the ability to climb to either escape from predators or hunt their prey. That’s not the only reason I want one, but it sure is pretty cool. They’re even brave enough to defend their owners and livestock from lions.

So guess what, Miss Clara Isabel Logsdon, dogs can climb trees and chase squirrels on their own turf. If a dog can make the impossible possible, just imagine what you can do!

Rhodesian Ridgeback-tree

Rhodesian Ridgeback-tree-2

This message was written by a team of geeks, nerds, gamers, and Dr. David Powers. You can always find us at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

Links-

Dan Miller Events and Products (scan down this list and you’ll see a link to Dan)

Find the book…What If It Were Possible?

Want more information on Rhodesian Ridgebacks?

Where did I get the original idea for wanting a Rhodesian Ridgeback?

2 thoughts on “What can a Little Girl and a Rhodesian Ridgeback Dog Teach You about Creativity?

  1. Oh how fun – Clara will love reading this and learning about the dogs, since she loves animals! She is definitely an inspiration on mastering the impossible when you set your mind to it, and I love that there are so many examples like this that buck the norm and push people to think outside the box! I just added it in to my latest blog post about her as well: http://www.mamasaysnamaste.com/i-am-not-a-teacher-but-i-unschool/

    Thanks for posting about her!

  2. Pingback: I Am Not A Teacher (But I Unschool)

Leave a Reply

