What Would You Do if Your Employer Closed Their Doors Forever?


A local Fujifilm plant in Dayton TN is shuttering its doors and shifting production to other plants. You can reference an article about it HERE. As I read the article I could see the writing on the wall regarding this event. I’m not talking about a sudden thing either. I’m talking about a decades long build up to this event. Is it any surprise to anyone that the film industry has given up the ghost to go digital? As further evidence that this was coming, Fujifilm employees only needed to look a few miles north to the Eastman Kodak plant in Kingsport TN where the downward slide has been going on for a long time.

070911bspill36419425281281_t1070_h3e55675f2d8a7cc6ec7952aa22df2e1f5ddc1f83

So, now 84 employees will be out of a job next year, although the newspaper was kind enough to use the term ‘idle’.

My question to you is, what would you do if the business you worked for rendered you idle? To help you answer that, I’d like to ask you a few more questions and then offer some hope.

  • Are you working in a field that is quickly becoming useless on a large scale?
  • Do you have a plan to either transition out of it or become a linchpin in that field as it shrinks?
  • Can the particular skill you do become useful in another business?
  • Is it time for you to finally stop doing a J-O-B for a living and do something that makes you happy?
  • Are you blaming someone else for this predicament or taking action to move out of it?

I hope those questions raise larger ones in your life. It’s okay if you can’t answer all of them or even if your answers are “No” or “I don’t know”. It’s my job to folks just like you through career transition and periods of ‘idle’ time. I’d love to help, so here’s how I can do it…

  1. You can hire me individually for career transition coaching. Normally, I only work with people in high stress/high risk occupations like police, firefighters, and the military, but the devastation of large plant closings really bother me.
  2. You can tell your boss that you want them to hire me to help all the employees during this time. They’ll be paying for career transition services in some way, but seldom as good and useful as what I offer.
  3. You can try it on your own using resources. If you do, I highly recommend the 48 Days to the Work You Love Career Kit by my friend Dan Miller.

The Fujifilm folks have until next year to find new work. What about you? Do you need to make changes now as well.

48 Days whats-your-plan

This message was written by a team of geeks, nerds, gamers, and Dr. David Powers. You can always find us at www.drdavidpowers.com. Thanks for reading!

Links-

Fujufilm plant closing article

48 days to the Work You Love Kit

More information about the 48 Days plan

 

Leave a Reply

