A Chat with Guy Fieri


 

Guy Fieri was in Myrtle Beach SC for a food & wine show. For those of you that aren’t foodies in a professional or armchair sense, Fieri is the television host of several television shows on both NBC and The Food Network including Minute to Win It!, Tailgate Warriors, Guy’s Big Bite, Ultimate Recipe Showdown, and Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives. He’s also the author of several books and owner of a couple of restaurants.

You can also find out  more about him on his website. If you go there, click on the Guy’s Next Look tab. It’s a fun little spot where you can play with a cartoon Guy and change his hair, sunglasses, and beard to create your favorite Guy Fieri look. There’s also a lot of other great information on his website including recipes.

I had a chance to sit down with him in his trademark sunglasses and chat a little about coffee. Although Fieri is most well-known as expert in what I consider dude food, he’s no stranger to the bean, so I asked him a few questions about his coffee tastes. 

Do you like coffee?  I am a huge coffee person.

 How do you prefer to make your coffee? I have a Breville espresso machine that someone gave me. I love it. Normally I’ll use a French press for coffee. No drip machines allowed.

 Do you make your own? I do. I grind my own beans for every cup. It’s just like pepper. I crack my own pepper fresh when I use it. That way it’s fresh and full of flavor right then and there. Coffee beans are the same way. Grind it when you need it so the flavor is released as you make it. Quit grinding your coffee at the store or buying pre-ground.

 What do you think about coffee in general? (I always ask this question to weed out the Folgers and Maxwell House crowd) I believe there are a lot of misunderstandings about coffee. A lot of people just don’t have a deep understanding about what coffee really is.

 Any certain way you enjoy your coffee? I enjoy Americano’s. A lot of people don’t because it’s so much water, but I like it. I also like bold, rich, big flavors. For the quantity though, I’m not a five cupper. I have my limits.

2 thoughts on “A Chat with Guy Fieri

  1. Your love of coffee is exciting. I live in Charleston SC and have yet to find a worthwhile cup of jo. I migrated her from a state up north and one of the best things I left behind was Boston Stoker Coffee Roasters. Check them out. We buy our beans from them and whenever anyone is coming this way we have them bring a bag. You owe it to yourself to try their roast or flavors – Crazy Carmel and Snickerdoodle are great. Let us know what you think.

    nina

    • Thanks for tuning me onto them. I’ll have to hit them up for some review samples. For a closer fix, there’s a roaster up here in Myrtle Beach called Cashua Coffee. Larry’s Beans in Raleigh is pretty good too. I’m drinking their Ethiopian right now.

Leave a comment